Harry Potter/Luna Lovegood, Ginny Weasley: Quixotic

December 26, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Quixotic” is a fanfic starring Harry Potter, Luna Lovegood and Ginny Weasley. It’s been written by artemis_sparks.

In this story, Ginny breaks up with Harry and he finds comfort in his friendship—which eventually grows into something else—with Luna.

First of all, I want to thank Ayla Pascal for suggesting that I read this fic. Apparently Ayla has mind-reading powers: I was determined to have my next rec be a Harry/Luna fic, so her message reached me in a most appropriate moment; besides, she guessed exactly the kind of story I’d like to read, and trust me, this is something many people would get totally wrong even after reading about my preferences.

The author did a great job with the characterisations. Harry is his usual selfish, annoying and whiny self; Luna is, well, entirely Luna-esque; Ginny is in character too.

By the way, one thing I must praise artemis_sparks for is the way she dealt with Ginny, both as an individual and as Harry’s love interest. I don’t loathe the ship Harry/Ginny, I just find it utterly lame; while I dislike Harry, I certainly don’t hate Ginny. Yet, this is for the most part a Harry/Luna fic. So it would have been too easy for the writer to engage in some sort of Ginny bashing, and develop the plot so as to lead the readers to believe Luna is the only worthy woman in the world. As I read the fic, I grew more an more concerned, fearing that at any instant the author would fall into such traps. Fortunately, it never happened.

I loved the interactions between Luna and Harry. She helps him see old things with fresh eyes, in a way that is very much hers. I also liked the scenes with baby Teddy. Normally, I’m not too interested in small children, but Teddy’s presence in this fic is important. His reactions to the grown-ups’ actions and the way they behave towards him add a lot to the story.

The ending wasn’t the one I expected and this is precisely one of the strongest points in this fic. I’m going to post spoilers about it below. If you dislike spoilers, you can quit reading this review now and click here to read a very good Harry/Luna (and Ginny) fanfic.

Still here?

Are you sure you want to read the spoilers below? Are you really sure?

All right. Read on.

SPOILERS:

From what I’ve seen, several readers found the fic’s ending heartbreaking, because Ginny gets Harry back. However, I didn’t feel heartbroken at all. Much on the contrary: I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it would have been nice if Harry had chosen Luna, but still, the fact that he eventually chose Ginny didn’t bother me at all. It actually made the fic better, because it was unpredictable, especially when you consider the story has been published on a Harry/Luna LJ community.

I also liked it that the author didn’t make the ending look as if it was a tragedy. Judging solely from this fic, I’d say artemis_sparks is a quite mature ficwriter.

Now go read this Harry/Luna (and Ginny, let’s not forget) fic.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

